Spring Construction


One of the most common questions I am asked is “When should I sign my contract to build if I want to start my new home in Spring?”

I normally answer “Right Now!” Keep in mind I have been in sales for 20 years what do you expect? I usually get funny looks so then I answer “Winter” and I still get a funny looks. Let me explain.

If you want to start building in Spring i.e. the Vernal Equinox (You know when the day is as long as the night) March 20th 2012 you have to work backwards. Here is what needs to happen and approximately how long it takes.

•Sign Building Contract
•Builder Adjusts home plans to customers changes 1-2 weeks
•Customer reviews plans 1-2 weeks depending on changes
•Survey ordered 1 week
•(Apply for sanitary permit) Applies only to rural lots add 1-4 weeks
•Get wall bracing engineering as required by municipality 1 week
•Apply for building permit (up to 10 business days)

Keep in mind each municipality is different in terms of both timing and requirements. Some process could be shorter or longer.

Meanwhile while all that is going on, the customer needs to apply for financing. That process alone can take 30-45 days. At the bank you have the following:
•Mortgage application
•Credit check
•Appraisal (this can sometimes take 3 weeks alone due to refinancing backlogs)
•Underwriting
•Approval
•Schedule closing

Using the times from above you can work backwards on a calendar and figure it out. (Don’t worry I already did if for you) So if you want to start building in Spring, on a City lot you would need to sign your building contract January 27th. If you have a rural lot you would need to sign January 7th!

Now I don’t look so funny when I say “Sign right now!” The bad news is you are already behind the eight ball for a spring start. The good news is that Spring lasts until June 19th so you still have time to technically start in Spring. (City lots would have to sign by April 17th at the latest and Rural lots by April 3rd) Just sayin’

Happy building!
-Belman Homes Team.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 362 other followers

